desert fathers – few thoughts

Abba Antony said,

For the sake of Greek learning, men go overseas. But the City of God has its foundations in every seat of human habitation. The kingdom of God is within. The goodness that is in us asks only the human mind.”

A brother asked abba Poemen,

“How should I behave in my cell in the place where I am living?”

He replied,

“Behave as if you were a stranger, and wherever you are, do not expect your words to have an influence and you will be at peace.”

Abba Moses asked abba Sylvanus,

“Can a man lay a new foundation every day?”

The old man said, “If he works hard, he can lay a new foundation at every moment.”

An old man said,

“Every time a thought of superiority or vanity moves you, examine your conscience to see if you have kept all the commandments, whether you love your enemies, whether you consider yourself to be an unprofitable servant and the greatest sinner of all. Even so, do not pretend to great ideas as though you were perfectly right, for that thought destroys everything.”

Abba Lot went to see abba Joseph and he said to him,

“Abba, as far as I can, I say my little office, I fast a little, I pray and meditate, I live in peace and as far as I can I purify my thoughts. What else can I do?”

Then the old man stood up and streched his hands toward heaven; his fingers became like ten lamps of fire and he said to him,

“If you will, you can become all flame.”

Leave a Reply

